Will Power takes checkered flag in 2018 Indianapolis 500

He held off Ed Carpenter to become the first driver to sweep the IndyCar Grand Prix and the Indy 500 in the same year.

Posted: May 28, 2018 10:30 AM
Updated: May 28, 2018 10:31 AM

INDIANAPOLIS, Ind. (WTTV)— In the end, Will Power had the speed.He won the 102nd Running of the Indianapolis 500, finding just enough at the end to take the checkered flag. A late caution flag involving Tony Kanaan set the stage for Power’s winning run.

He held off Ed Carpenter to become the first driver to sweep the IndyCar Grand Prix and the Indy 500 in the same year. Power sat in fourth position with six laps left but made his way up the field and took advantage when race leaders Stefan Wilson and Jack Harvey pulled into the pits. Power is the first Australian driver to win the “Greatest Spectacle in Racing.” It’s the 17th Indy 500 win for Team Penske.

Carpenter, the pole-sitter who placed second, had his best Indy 500th finish in 15 races. He dominated the early parts of the race but couldn’t find enough speed to catch Power in the end.

Scott Dixon, the 2008 Indy 500 winner, finished third. Alexander Rossi, who won the 100th Indy 500 in 2016, made his way up from 32nd to fourth. Ryan Hunter-Reay, the 2014 Indy 500 winner, rounded out the top five.

Notable incidents during the race included a crash involving James Davison and Takuma Sato–the 2017 Indy 500 winner–that ended their days. Danica Patrick spun out and hit the wall in what was billed as her final race.

Ed Jones hit the wall and ended up going to IU Health Methodist Hospital after complaining of head and neck pain. Kyle Kaiser experienced mechanical problems and had to drop out of the race.

Sebastien Bourdais crashed with 61 laps to go. He had briefly taken the lead during the race. Other crashes took out three-time Indy 500 winner Helio Castroneves and Sage Karam.

The unofficial final standings:

Will Power
Ed Carpenter
Scott Dixon
Alexander Rossi
Ryan Hunter-Reay
Simon Pagenaud
Carlos Munoz
Josef Newgarden
Robert Wickens
Graham Rahal
JR Hildebrand
Marco Andretti
Matheus Leist
Gabby Chaves
Stefan Wilson
Jack Harvey
Oriol Servia
Charlie Kimball
Z. Claman De Melo
Spencer Pigot
Conor Daly
Max Chilton
Zach Veach
Jay Howard
Tony Kanaan
Saga Karam
Helio Castroneves
Sebastien Bourdais
Kyle Kaiser
Danica Patrick
Ed Jones
Takuma Sato
James Davison

This story was orgionally posted on CBS4indy.com

Article Comments

Terre Haute
56° wxIcon
Hi: 70° Lo: 55°
Feels Like: 56°
59° wxIcon
Hi: 72° Lo: 52°
Feels Like: 59°
Scattered Clouds
66° wxIcon
Hi: 73° Lo: 53°
Feels Like: 66°
56° wxIcon
Hi: 70° Lo: 54°
Feels Like: 56°
Broken Clouds
58° wxIcon
Hi: 68° Lo: 54°
Feels Like: 58°
56° wxIcon
Hi: 71° Lo: 54°
Feels Like: 56°
56° wxIcon
Hi: 70° Lo: 53°
Feels Like: 56°
A Mild Night
WTHI Planner
WTHI Temps
WTHI Radar

Latest Video


Sunday Night Forecast


Madi's Hope Foundation


Final day of the Covered Bridge Festival


Architectural presentation at SMWC


Veterans group continues work on house for struggling vets


Terre Haute mayoral debate happening Sunday night


Sunday Morning Forecast


Help needed identifying vandals


Vin Lin Volleyball


Bloomfield Volleyball

WTHI Events